Back to Glossary

Estate Tax

A federal and / or state tax issued upon a deceased's Estate, required under specific circumstances.

For example, a Federal Estate Tax is only required for Estates valued at more than $11.58 million; twice that amount for married couples.

And only the following states collect Estate Tax:

  • Connecticut

  • Delaware

  • District of Columbia

  • Hawaii

  • Illinois

  • Maryland

  • Massachusetts

  • Minnesota

  • New Jersey

  • New York

  • North Carolina

  • Ohio

  • Oregon

  • Rhode Island

  • Tennessee

  • Vermont

  • Washington

  • See the checklist link below for more information.